Skip Navigation


TCA all-district honors announced as they prepare for the TAPPS Division III State Semifinal game

November 28, 2018
By Joe Hamstra

As the Trinity Christian Academy Eagles continue their quest for a State title, they play in the TAPPS Division III State Semifinal this Friday for the second time in three years!  

The Eagles will play a tough district opponent again, Flower Mound Coram Deo, at 7:00pm on Friday, 11/30 at Pennington Field in Bedford. The winner of this game will advance to the TAPPS Division III State Championship next Friday at 12:00pm at Waco Midway! 

We'd like to congratulate the following football players on receiving all-district honors this year. With their competitive district this year (3 teams ranked in the top 4 in the state), these honors are very impressive. Congratulations!

Honorable Mention OFFENSE:

  • Senior, Caleb Chesney - Running Back
  • Senior, Jackson Lewis - Wide Receiver
  • Senior, Gage Scott - Kicker
  • Freshman, Brayden Smalley - Offensive Line


  • Senior, Cody Athey - Running Back
  • Senior, Tito Gabaldon - Quarterback
  • Junior, Lars Hanssen - Offensive Line


  • Senior, Cole Alberts - Offensive Line
  • Senior, Preston Gist - Running Back
  • Senior, Carson Wert - Wide Receiver

Honorable Mention DEFENSE:

  • Senior, Tito Gabaldon - Punter
  • Senior, Jackson Lewis - Defensive Back
  • Sophomore, Jake Povero - Linebacker
  • Senior, Gage Scott - Defensive Line
  • Freshman, Brayden Smalley -  Defensive Line


  • Senior, Preston Gist - Defensive Back
  • Senior, Landry Smith - Linebacker
  • Junior, Marshall Tovar - Defensive Line


  • Senior, Cody Athey - Linebacker
  • Senior, Caleb Chesney - Defensive Back
  • Junior, Lars Hanssen - Defensive Line
  • Senior, Carson Wert - Defensive Back  

Division III District I Newcomer of the Year: Freshman, Brayden Smalley

Division III District I Co-MVP: Senior, Cody Athey

Division III District I Coach of the Year: Joe Hamstra

Front row pictured L to R:
Marshall Tovar, Brayden Smalley, Jackson Lewis, Cole Alberts, Lars Hanssen, Gage Scott
Back row pictured L to R:
Landry Smith, Preston Gist, Carson Wert, Caleb Chesney, Tito Gabaldon, Cody Athey

Not pictured: Sophomore, Jake Povero